Burkina Faso

Burkina Faso is a landlocked country in West Africa with a population of 17.88 million people. It is bordered by Mali, Niger, Ivory Coast, Ghana, Togo and Benin. A former French colony, it gained independence as Upper Volta in 1960. The name Burkina Faso, which means “Land of Incorruptible People,” was adopted in 1984. The capital is Ouagadougou which lies at the centre of the country

Quick Facts

GDP per capita: $713

Population: 17.88 million (over half under 18)

Largest cities: Ouagadougou (the capital), Bobo-Dioulasso, Koudougou

Language: French



Landlocked. Bordered by Mali and Niger to the North, and Benin, Togo, Ghana, and Cote d’Ivoire to the South.

Places of Interest: Banfora Cascades, Grande Mosque Bobo-Dioulasso, Karfiguela Waterfalls, Kassena, Niansogoni, Sindou Peaks


ACT in Burkina Faso


ACT started working in 2000 working with partner charity Child Hope in Ougadougou, as well as communities of widows.

ACT Facts:

Since 2000 a total of 114 orphan children have been educated across the country. More than 90 percent have completed secondary school of which 12 attended university and 4 have graduated. Nearly 300 women have benefitted from the ACT Widow’s project and received training in business skills so they can generate sustainable income. A significant number of the widows have set up their own enterprises successfully. Read the story of Collette.

In 2011 ACT formed partnership with Samaritan Purse (Operation Christmas Child). Since then ACT children have each year received a present at Christmas as part of the Operation Christmas Child.